I MINA'BENTE NUEBI NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN 2008 (FIRST) Regular Session

COM. Executive Resolution No. 160

Introduced by:

2

Edward J.B. Calvo
Ray Tenorio
'R. Muña-Barnes

lating the
Guar Relative to Commending and Congratulating the Guam Business Executive of the Year and Guam Business celebrating their 25th Anniversary

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE OF I 1

- MINA'BENTE NUEBI NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN:
- WHEREAS, on March 1, 1983 the founders first published Guam 3
- Business, a bi-monthly magazine covering in depth and detail business news 4
- 5 of Guam and Micronesia; and
- 6 WHEREAS, Guam Business continues capturing the pulse of Guam's
- 7 vibrant and growing business community in many ways, and provides that
- 8 information in a well-written, well-designed magazine; and
- 9 WHEREAS, Managing Director, Marcos Fong, and Publisher, Maureen
- 10 N. Maratita, vigorously combine their efforts to maintain the reputation of
- 11 Guam Business as the recognized authority on business in Micronesia, and
- 12 enjoys a reputation for accuracy and fairness; and

1 WHEREAS, special recognition to a well-deserving, dedicated staff of

2 Guam Business for their work, the senior members being Publisher, Ms.

3 Maureen N. Maratita; Editor, Ms. Faye Varias; and Production Supervisor,

4 Ms. Nerita Enderes; and

WHEREAS, through consistent editorial quality, attractive production, exciting and well-written articles, *Guam Business* has set journalistic standards in Micronesia, the magazine, its writers and photographers having been recipients of numerous awards from the Guam Press Club, the Society of Professional Journalists, the U.S. Small Business Administration, and the business community; and

WHEREAS, Guam Business contributes to Guam's business community and the Guam Chapter of the American Red Cross working collaboratively with Ms. Chita A. Blaise, Chief Executive Officer, Guam Chapter of the American Red Cross, on the annual fundraising gala for the American Red Cross. Special recognition of Mr. Ray Gibson and Ms. Patti Arroyo of K57, for their continuous support as emcees during the gala that includes the naming an Executive of the Year chosen from nominees from Micronesia's business community; and

WHEREAS, past winners of the prestigious Executive of the Year distinction include Mr. Robert H. Jones, 1983; Mr. John M. Borlas, 1984; Mr. Philip J. Flores, 1985; Ms. Doris Flores Brooks, 1986; Mr. Mark V. Pangilinan, 1987; Mr. Allen A. Pickens, 1988; Mr. †T. Roy Sullivan, 1989; Mr. Kurt S.

23 Moylan, 1990; Mr. Akira "Mike" Baba, 1991; Mr. Paul M. Calvo, 1992; Mr.

- 1 Antoinette D. Sanford, 1993; Mr. Kenneth T. Jones Jr., 1994; Mr. †Edward M.
- 2 Calvo, 1995; Mr. L. Carl Peterson, 1996; Mr. William R. Thompson, 1997; Mr.
- 3 John K. Lee, 1998; Mr. †Henry L. Schnabel, 1999; Ms. Marian Aldan-Pierce,
- 4 2000; Mr. Manfred H. Pieper, 2001; Mr. Thomas G. Ahillen, 2002; Mr. Juan T.
- 5 Guerrero, 2003; Mr. Joseph "Jerry" Kramer and Mr. Joseph "Joey" Crisostomo,
- 6 2004; Mr. David M. Sablan, 2005; and Mr. Alfred C. Ysrael, 2006; and
- 7 WHEREAS, Guam Business, a bi-monthly magazine covering in depth
- 8 and detail the business news of Guam and Micronesia, celebrates the 25th
- 9 Guam Business Executive of the Year on January 12, 2008, and the 25th
- 10 Anniversary of Guam Business magazine on March 1, 2008; now, therefore, be
- 11 it

RESOLVED, that I Mina'Bente Nuebe Na Liheslaturan Guåhan does 1 2 hereby, on behalf of the people of Guam, extends its congratulations to Guam 3 Business on its 25th Anniversary; and be it further RESOLVED, that the Speaker and the Chairman of the Executive 4 5 Committee certify, and the Secretary of the Legislature attest to, the adoption hereof and that copies of the same be thereafter transmitted to Mr. Marcus 6 7 Fong, Managing Director, Guam Business; Ms. Maureen N. Maratita, Publisher, 8 Guam Business; Ms. Faye Varias, Editor, Guam Business; Ms. Nerita Enderes, Supervisor Production, Guam Business; Ms. Chita A. Blaise, Chief Executive 9 Officer, Guam Chapter of the American Red Cross; Mr. Ray Gibson, K57 and 10 11 Ms. Patti Arroyo, K57, and to the Honorable Felix P. Camacho, I Maga'lahen 12 Guåhan. DULY AND REGULARLY ADOPTED BY THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE OF I MINA'BENTE NUEBE NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN ON THE ____ DAY OF ______ 2008. EDWARD J. B. CALVO **RAY TENORIO Acting Speaker** Senator and Secretary of the Legislature